Posts

Showing posts from June, 2010

900 YEARS OF KARMAPA: MEMORIAL CEREMONY

Image
June 27-29, 2010 - Gyuto This year marks the 900th year since the birth of the First Karmapa Dhuesum Khenpa (1110-1193), who founded the lineage of Kagyu in 1139 C.E. Tsurphu Labrang hosted a three day meeting in Gyuto to organize the 900th year celebration of Karmapa. His Holiness chaired the meeting. Attending the meeting were 31 representatives of different Karma Kamtsang monasteries and nunneries from India, Nepal and Bhutan; The Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, representing Karmapa Foundation in America; Drupon Rinpoche, General Secretary of His Holiness Karmapa; Ringu Tulku, representing Karmapa Network Europe, Mr. Sonam Damdul, Member of Parliament of Tibetan Government in Exile; and Scholar Tashi Tsering, from Amnye Machen Institute. It was decided that the celebration would be for one year beginning from the 8th of December, 2010 (that is 2nd day of the 11th month) to 27th Dec 2011 (3rd day of the 11th month according to Tibetan Lunar calendar). The opening ceremony will be from th…

"Au Tibet, nous avons besoin d'un projet" (lexpress)

Image
Par , publié le 26/06/2010 à 07:00
A 25 ans, le karmapa-lama est l'une des figures majeures du bouddhisme tibétain. Pourrait-il succéder un jour au dalaï-lama? L'idée semble effrayer l'Inde, sa terre d'accueil, qui l'a privé il y a peu d'une tournée en Europe. L'Express est allé le rencontrer.

Voici un garçon venu du Toit du monde. Fils de nomades tibétains, Ogyen Trinlé Dorjé a été reconnu comme une "sainte incarnation" - la 17e, dans la lignée des karmapas, vieille de neuf cents ans. Avant de fuir la Chine en décembre 1999, à travers les montagnes de l'Himalaya, le jeune homme était le seul lama reconnu à la fois par le dalaï-lama et par le gouvernement de Pékin. 
Aujourd'hui, certains voient en lui un successeur éventuel au chef des Tibétains en exil, âgé de 74 ans. Une perspective que le jeune homme refuse d'envisager - les karmapas ont toujours joué un rôle purement spirituel, rappelle-t-il, et n'ont jamais exercé le …

H.H. 17th Gyalwang Karmapa: 2010 Birthday Speech

Image
Special speech His Holiness prepared for his 26th Birthday on 6/26/2010. His Holiness delivered the speech in 3 languages - Tibetan, English, and Chinese.


PHOTOS FROM HIS HOLINESS KARMAPA'S BIRTHDAY EVENTS: JUNE 26TH, 2010

Image

LIVE WEBCAST OF HIS HOLINESS KARMAPA'S BIRTHDAY ADDRESS

June 25, 2010 His Holiness the 17th Gyalwang Karmapa will be making a speech as part of his 26th Birthday Celebration. This address will be made available for public viewing via live internet webcast. His Holiness's Office of Information and Communications will be broadcasting this event via Live-Webcast. The detail of the Birthday Speech Webcast is as follows:Date: June 26th, 2010Time:
India Time (IST): 6/26, 02:00 pm
Taipei / Beijing: 6/26, 04:30 pm
US Pacific Time (PDT): 6/26, 01:30 am
US Eastern Time (EDT): 6/26, 04:30 am
London Time: 6/26, 09:30 am Webcast Site: http://www.karmapa-teachings.org To convert India time to your local time, please click here. Please Return to this website no earlier than an hour before the scheduled time to find the link to the live webcast page.admin@karmapa-teachings.org
http://www.kagyuoffice.org/PastActivities-10-AprJun.html

VIDEO RECORDINGS OF HIS HOLINESS KARMAPA'S 2010 SUMMER TEACHINGS ARE NOW ONLINE

June 24, 2010 The video recordings of the HHK 2010 Summer Teaching for International Devotees in flash format are now available for online viewing!http://www.karmapa-teachings.org/
http://www.kagyuoffice.org/PastActivities-10-AprJun.html

PROGRAM SCHEDULE FOR HIS HOLINESS GYALWANG KARMAPA'S BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS: JUNE 26, 2010

Image

LIVE WEBCAST TEACHINGS CONDUCTED BY KARMAPA: GAMPOPA'S LAM-CHOG RINCHEN TRENGWA

June 17, 2010 His Holiness' teachings will be presented on a new, permanent home for the all future live webcast events from His Holiness:http://www.karmapa-teachings.org/Summer Teaching of H.H. The 17th Gyalwang Karmapa for International DevoteesTopic: 
Dhagpo Rinpoche’s (Gampopa) Lam-chog Rinchen Trengwa or Precious Garlands of Supreme Path.Location: 
Gyuto University Monastery, Dharmasala, IndiaDate: 
June 18th, 2010 – June 20th, 2010Morning Session:India Time (IST): 6/18-6/20, 10:00 am – 11:30 am
Taipei / Beijing: 6/18-6/20, 12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Pacific Time (PDT): 6/17-6/19, 9:30 pm – 11:00 pm
Eastern Time (EST): 6/18-6/20, 12:30 am – 2:00 am
GMT: 6/18-6/20, 4:30 am – 6:00 amAfternoon Session:
India time (IST): 6/18-6/20, 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm
Taipei / Beijing: 6/18-6/20, 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm
Pacific Time (PDT): 6/18-6/20, 3:30 am – 5:00 am
Eastern Time (EDT): 6/18-6/20, 6:30 am – 8:00 am
GMT: 6/18-6/20, 10:30am – 12:00 pm Live translation in English and Chinese only. We sincerely ho…

GYALWANG KARMAPA'S VARIOUS ACTIVITIES: JUNE-JULY, 2010

Image
July 7 - Gyuto. His Holiness performed the Gye-Dor Lha-Nga (5 Deities of Hevajra) prayer from Je-Duesum Khenpa's text Thug-Dham Nga. Goshir Gyaltsab Rinpoche, and all the monks in the Labrang, attended the prayers.June 15 - Gyuto. Goshir Gyaltsab Rinpoche offered Dhue-khor transmission to His Holiness, continuing last year's transmission. Gyaltsab Rinpoche arrived in Gyuto on the 15th of June.June 7. His Holiness made a short visit to the Library of Tibetan Works and Archive.June 7. His Holiness visited the exhibition of Tibetan traditional appliqué and embroidered thangkas at Tsuglakh-khang. Mr. Tenzin Gyaltsen Ghadong requested His Holiness’ visit.








http://www.kagyuoffice.org/PastActivities-10-JulSep.html

Karmapa explains the Khoryug Logo

Image
June 5th, 2010





His Holiness explains how he designed the Khoryug logo and what he hopes it will achieve:The basic symbol within the Khoryug logo is the Kagyu Monlam design of two hands that are clasping each other. I have spoken on this before; we sentient beings live on this Earth and it protects us and gives us this precious life. We need to treat it in the same way and protect it and let it live as well. This is the true meaning of being an environmentalist from a Buddhist point of view. I think possibly, this view is shared by both Buddhists and environmentalists.When the monastic representatives suggested that I form an association, I felt extremely happy. The establishment of Khoryug as an association is our collective commitment to protect our mother Earth. Therefore, I designed the Khoryug logo so that the themes include the Earth itself and its creation. I replicated the Monlam symbol in four different colors to create a fifth element, which is space. The colors represent the …

KARMAPA GIVES SPEECH ON WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY

Image
June 5, 2010 - Dharamsala "[At 8:00AM today, on it's founding anniversary, the] Tesi Environmental Awareness Movement [...] announce[d] this year’s Tesi Environmental Service Award to Rangjung Khoryug Sungkyob Tsokpa (Environmental Protection Organization). Rangjung Khoryug Sungkyob Tsokpa (RKST) is an association of Kagyu Buddhist monasteries [that] help protect the Himalayan region from environmental degradation under the leadership of His Holiness the 17th Karmapa Ogyen Trinley Dorje. RKST consists of thirty-six monasteries across India, Nepal and Bhutan that are working together to help create an environmental awakening in the Himalayas about the importance of forest protection, water conservation, wildlife preservation, climate change adaptation and waste management. In the last two years, Gyalwang Karmapa has called for environmental commitments from Kagyu monasteries, nunneries and centers, and organised two major environmental conferences. With unwavering faith in Hi…

MASS 49TH DAY MEMORIAL PUJA FOR VICTIMS OF KYIGUDHO EARTHQUAKE

Image
June 1, 2010 An elaborate 49th day memorial mass puja service was held in the Thegchen Choling Temple, in McLeod, in remembrance of all the victims who lost their precious lives, and many others who underwent great destruction, who are still experiencing immense difficulty after the recent earthquake which hit Kyigudho region of Tibet. Organised by the Tibetan Settlement Office, Dharamshala, this special puja took place in the main Palace Temple from 8am to 10am. It was presided over by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.
At the invitation of the Tibetan Settlement Office, Dharamshala, His Holiness the 17th Gyalwang Karmapa also joined in this puja and offered his prayers. On his way back, His Holiness Karmapa, at the request of the Director of the Tibetan Library, had a short stopover at the Tibetan Library where he consecrated their new, recently constructed, blocks for conference auditorium and meditation room. His Holiness left Gyuto Monastery at 7am and returned at 11am.





http://www.kagy…